Press Photos

The Watchmen on:
Maple Music
All Music Guide

In The Trees 20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition



Toronto, ON (August 17, 2014) – Celebrating the 20th anniversary of their quintessential, platinum certified sophomore album ‘In The Trees’, iconic Canadian alt-rockers The Watchmen have announced the September 16th release (via Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company), of a two-disc, deluxe edition of the breakthrough album that catapulted the band into stardom - delivering their unique style and sound to the masses. In support of the release, The Watchmen have also revealed a handful of live dates, including a double shot at the legendary Horseshoe Tavern in Toronto September 18th and 19th, Mavericks in Ottawa September 20th and more throughout 2014.

Disc One of the Deluxe Edition features the JUNO Award nominated ‘In The Trees’ in its remastered form, and also includes some never-before-heard demos of album outtakes. The follow-up to 1992’s ‘McLaren Furnace Room’ (named for the band’s rehearsal space in the basement of the McLaren Hotel), ‘In The Trees’ was a definitive album for The Watchmen (Danny Greaves, Joey Serlin, Sammy Kohn and Ken Tizzard), with success vindicated by radio stats, album sales and a supporting tour that spanned nearly two years and took the band around the world.

Disc Two includes an amazing and rare glimpse at the album’s humble beginnings, with demos from the fall of 1993 when Pete Loewen was still on bass as well as the first demo sessions following the recruitment of new bassist Tizzard. Additionally, it captures The Watchmen live via a soundboard recording for a Dutch Radio station, and wraps with a live acoustic version of ‘In My Mind’, recorded at the Q107 studios in Toronto.

Arguably one of the most commercially successful Canadian bands of the mid to late 90s, The Watchmen saw three of their albums certified gold – McLaren Furnace Room (1992), Silent Radar (1998) and Slomotion (2001) – in addition to the platinum certification of “In The Trees”. “In The Trees” (Deluxe Edition) includes heavy hitting singles ‘Boneyard Tree,’ ‘All Uncovered’ and ‘Lusitana,’ reminding all of us of the hauntingly soulful vocals of Greaves, complimented by Serlin’s melodic guitar and Kohn’s hypnotic percussion.

This September, fans should be on the lookout for “Uncovered: The Story of The Watchmen”, Toronto-based author Vanessa Azzoli’s writing debut (Eternal Cavalier Press), which combines extensive research and unfettered access to the band to tell the story of The Watchmen’s twenty-plus years on the road – captivating and genuine.

Pre-order “In The Trees” at iTunes.ca on August 26th.

IN THE TREES Track listing:
Disc One
1. 34 Dead St.
2. Boneyard Tree
3. Lusitana
4. Wiser
5. Calm
6. All Uncovered
7. In My Mind
8. Laugher
9. The South
10. Born Afire
11. Vovo Diva
12. Middle East
13. Nothing (Demo Outtake)
14. Take My Fever (Demo Outtake)
15. Hurting Place (Demo Outtake)
16. Dragon (Demo Outtake)
17. In The Trees (Demo Outtake)

Disc Two

1. 34 Dead Street (Demo)
2. Boneyard Tree (Demo)
3. Lusitana (Demo)
4. Wiser (Demo)
5. Calm (Demo)
6. All Uncovered (Demo)
7. In My Mind (Demo)
8. Laugher (Demo)
9. The South (Demo)
10. Born Afire (Demo)
11. Vovo Diva (Demo)
12. Middle East (Demo)
13. Lusitana (Live)
14. All Uncovered (Live)
15. Boneyard Tree (Live)
16. Middle East (Live)
17. In My Mind (Acoustic)

Media contacts:

Charlotte Thompson, Red Umbrella P.R.
416.464.8220 / Charlotte@RedUmbrellaPR.com
Shelby Burnell, Red Umbrella P.R.
416.317.8023 / Shelby@RedUmbrellaPR.com

Eternal Cavalier Press proudly presents Uncovered, the biography of The Watchmen

Due September 2014 from debut author Vanessa Azzoli

Eternal Cavalier Press is proud to announce the release of Uncovered: The Story of The Watchmen, the first biography of Canadian rock stalwarts The Watchmen, due September 2014.

Written by Toronto-based first-time author Vanessa Azzoli, this informative and all-encompassing look at one of the country's most dynamic rock bands comes as the band readies the 20th anniversary re-issue of their breakthrough release In The Trees. (Released by Universal Canada)

Written with both passionate respect and a keen eye for uncovering the stories rarely told, the biography recounts the history of The Watchmen, a band that represents an important time in Canadian rock and roll. Azzoli examines the band's roots, their countless hours spent on the road, the making of In The Trees and finally what the legacy of this determined roots rock acts figures to be.

"Seeing the band live for the first time was like nothing else," reflects Azzoli, who spends her days working in the music industry. "It was the first time I actually experienced what a ‘musical family’ felt like. They're charismatic, captivating and insanely talented."

Originally hailing from Winnipeg, The Watchmen gained critical success and developed a loyal following throughout the '90s with the singles "Stereo," "Boneyard Tree" and "All Uncovered." Mass commercial success may have eluded the band but their influence is no less tangible; they are one of countless Canadian acts whose earnest approach to touring the country paved the way for future generations of musicians. Throughout their 15-year career the band released Gold and Platinum selling records in Canada and shared the stage with the likes of The Tragically Hip and The Foo Fighters. Though they officially parted ways in 2003 the band has continued to play Toronto's legendary Horseshoe Tavern and will do so again on September 18th and 19th, 2014.

Azzoli has been involved in IndieWeek, NXNE and has sat on the jury for FACTOR grants. She maintains a column on the King Luck Music blog.

The book will be available for sale in online outlets, and independent book and record stores throughout the country.

Eternal Cavalier Press is a Toronto-based independent publisher focused on Canadian music and culture. Their debut release, Escape is at Hand: Tales of a Boy and a Band (Joshua Kloke) was the first book in print about The Tragically Hip. Stylus Magazine recommended the book "...for die-hard music fans of all stripes."

Live Acoustic At The Hopetoun - downloads available for free in the media section

May 2013 - Performing 'American Woman' with Randy Bachman

To be up to date on all news, join the new mailing list by emailing MasterL@the-watchmen.com with "subscribe" in the subject line